The following is a greeting given in one of the 20 indigenous languages recognized by the State of Alaska.

Ade’ ndadz dengit’a?
Language: Deg Xinag
Translation: "Hello, how are you?"



Alaska contains 586,000 square miles of land. It is one-fifth the size of the lower 48 states, 488 times larger than Rhode Island, two and a half times larger than Texas, and larger than the next three largest states in the U.S. combined.

Alaska’s population is 731,449 (2012 estimate). Nearly half of the state’s residents live in Anchorage. Alaska has .93 square miles for each person in the state; by comparison, New York has .003 square miles per person.

Alaska’s Ten Largest Communities
(2001 Estimates)
Anchorage 261,446     
Kenai 7,039
Fairbanks 31,423 Kodiak 6,836
Juneau 31,262 Wasilla 5,568
Sitka 8,788 Bethel 5,449
Ketchikan 8,295 Barrow 4,541

Alaska Facts

State Nick Name: "The Last Frontier" - the name Alaska is derived from the Aleut word "Aleyska," meaning "great land."

State Motto: "North to the Future"

State Capital: Juneau, located in the Southeast region of Alaska, has a population of 33,277 (2015 Estimate of Population, Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development)

Alaska Map:

Map of Alaska

Alaska Flag:

Alaska state flag is dark blue with yellow stars in the shape of the big dipper with the North star

NOTE: The State of Alaska is not responsible for the content/information on any site outside of a State of Alaska department.