The following is a greeting given in one of the 20 indigenous languages recognized by the State of Alaska.

Ade’ ndadz dengit’a?
Language: Deg Xinag
Translation: "Hello, how are you?"

AK Government

AK Government

Alaska officially became the 49th state on January 3,1959.

View the Alaska Statehood Act from the National Archives collection.

Alaskans elect a governor and a lieutenant governor to four-year terms. The governor, who appoints the heads of all 14 state departments and many other officials, is considered one of the most powerful governors in the U.S.

Alaska Over U.S. Flag
The Alaska State Legislature includes a Senate and House of Representatives. Forty representatives are elected to two-year terms; twenty senators serve four-year terms.

Two basic forms of local government exist in Alaska: the city and the borough. The borough is similar to the county in many other states. Alaska is unique because most of it has not been organized into political units. Currently, thirteen organized boroughs cover about one-third of the state.

Alaska’s two U.S. senators serve six year terms of office; the one U.S. Representative serves a two-year term.

The Alaska State Capitol, located in Juneau, was originally constructed in 1931 as the Federal and Territorial Building. When Alaska became a state in 1959, the building became property of the state. Other than Honolulu, Hawaii, Juneau is the only capitol city in the U.S. that is only accessible by boat or plane.

Official state holidays:
Seward's Day Last Monday in March Seward's Day commemorates the signing of the treaty by which the United States bought Alaska from Russian, signed on March 30, 1867.
Alaska Day October 18 Alaska Day is the anniversary of the formal transfer of the territory and the raising of the US. flag at Sitka on October 18, 1867.

Alaska Facts

State Nick Name: "The Last Frontier" - the name Alaska is derived from the Aleut word "Aleyska," meaning "great land."

State Motto: "North to the Future"

State Capital: Juneau, located in the Southeast region of Alaska, has a population of 33,277 (2015 Estimate of Population, Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development)

Alaska Map:

Map of Alaska

Alaska Flag:

Alaska state flag is dark blue with yellow stars in the shape of the big dipper with the North star

NOTE: The State of Alaska is not responsible for the content/information on any site outside of a State of Alaska department.