IN THE SUPREME COURT FOR THE STATE OF ALASKA

ORDER NO. 665

Amendment to Alaska Bar Rule 29, Part II of the Rules of Disciplinary Enforcement

IT IS ORDERED:

1. Alaska Bar Rule 29 is amended to read as follows:

(a) Order of Reinstatement. An attorney who has been disbarred or suspended may not resume practice until reinstated by order of the Court. Interm suspension will end only in accordance with Rule 26.

(b) Petitions for Reinstatement. An attorney who seeks reinstatement will, 60 days prior to the ending date of the suspension, or 60 days prior to the date on which (s)he seeks reinstatement, whichever comes later, file a verified petition for reinstatement with the Court, with a copy served upon the Director. In the petition, the attorney will

 state that (s)he has met the terms and conditions of the order imposing suspension or disbarment;

(2) state the names and addresses of all his or her employers during the period of suspension or disbarment;

(3) describe the scope and content of the work performed by the attorney for each such employer;

(4) provide the names and addresses of at least three character witnesses who had knowledge concerning the activites of the suspended or disbarred attorney during the period of his or her suspension or disbarment; and

(5) state the date upon which the suspensed or disbarred attorney seeks reinstatement.

An attorney who has been disbarred by order of the Court may not be reinstated until the expiration of at least five years from the effective date of the disbarment.

(c) Reinstatement Proceedings. Petitioners who have been suspended for one year or less will be automatically reinstated by the Court unless Discipline Counsel files an opposition to automatic reinstatement pursuant to Section (d) of this Rule. Supreme Court Order No. 665 Effective date March 15, 1986 page 2

^{ge 2} Proceedings for attorneys who have been disbarred or suspended for more than one year will be conducted as follows:

(1) upon receipt of the petition for reinstatement, the Director will refer the petition to a Hearing Committee in the jurisdiction in which the Petitioner maintained an office at the time of his or her misconduct; the Hearing Committee will promptly schedule a hearing to take place within 30 days of the filing of the petition; at the hearing, the Petitioner will have burden of demonstrating that (s)he the has the moral qualifications, competency, and knowledge of law required for admission to the practice of law in this State and that his or her resumption of the practice of law in within the State will not be detrimental to the integrity and standing of the Bar, or to the administration of justice, or subversive of the public interest; within 30 days of the conclusion of the hearing, the Hearing Committee will issue a report setting forth its findings of fact, conclusions of law, and recommendation; the Committee will serve a copy of the report upon Petitioner and Discipline Counsel, and transmit it, together with the record of the hearing, to the Board; any appellate action will be subject to the appellate procedures set forth in Rule 25;

(2) within 45 days of its receipt of the Hearing Committee's report, the Board will review the report and the record; the Board will file its findings of fact, conclusions of law, and recommendation with the Court, together with the record and the Hearing Committee report; the petition will be placed upon the calendar of the Court for acceptance or rejection of the Board's recommendation within 60 days after receipt by the Court of the Board's recommendation;

(3) in all proceedings concerning a petition for reinstatement, Discipline Counsel may cross-examine the Petitioner's witnesses and submit evidence in opposition to the petition; and

(4) the retaking and passing of Alaska's general applicant bar examination will be conclusive evidence that the Petitioner possesses the knowledge of law necessary for reinstatement to the practice of law in Alaska, as required under Section (b)(1) of this Rule. Supreme Court Order 665 Effective date March 15, 1986 Page 3

ł

(d) Oppositions to Automatic Reinstatement. Within 10 days after the Respondent files a petition for reinstatement, Discipline Counsel may file an opposition to automatic reinstatement with the Court and serve a copy upon the Board and the Petitioner. The opposition to automatic reinstatement will state the basis for the original suspension, the ending date of the suspension, and the facts which Discipline Counsel believes demonstrate that the petitioner should not be reinstated.

Upon receipt by the Director of a copy of the opposition to automatic reinstatement, reinstatement proceedings will be initiated in accordance with procedures outlined in Section (c)(1)-(4) of this Rule.

(e) Expenses. The Court may direct that the necessary expenses incurred in the investigation and processing of any petition for reinstatement be paid by the disbarred or suspended attorney.

(f) Bar Payment of Membership Fees. Prior to reinstatement, the disbarred or suspended attorney must pay to the Bar, in cash or by certified check, the full active membership fees due and owing the Association for the year in which reinstated.

DATED: DECEMBER 4, 1985

EFFECTIVE DATE: MARCH 15,1985

inowitz

Justice Warren Matthews Ψ.

om Justice Allen T. Compton

Daniel A. Moone for Justice Daniel A. Moore, Jr.