## IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF ALASKA ORDER NO. 1966

Amending Bar Rule 3 to change the application deadlines for the Alaska Bar Examination; amending Bar Rules 28(g) and 30(e) to change the publication requirements for public notices for discipline and transfers to disability inactive status.

## IT IS ORDERED:

1. Bar Rule 3 is amended to read as follows:

Rule 3. Applications.

\* \* \* \*

Section 3. An application shall be filed not later than May 1 for the July bar examination and not later than December 1 for the February bar examination. In the event that an application is filed late, an additional late filing fee of \$25 shall be paid if filed not later than fourteen days after the last day for filing a timely application, and a late filing fee of \$100 shall be paid if filed thereafter; provided, however, no application shall be accepted for late filing unless such application is filed at the office of the Alaska Bar Association not later than June 15 for the July bar examination and January 15 for the February bar examination. The Executive Director may, for good cause, accept applications for late filing after the May 1 and December 1 June 15 and January 15 deadlines. A total late filing fee of \$125.00 shall be paid for applications accepted after May 1 and December 1 June 15 and January 15.

Supreme Court Order No. 1966 Page 2 of 4

Effective Date: August 2, 2021

\* \* \* \*

**Section 6.** An applicant who has failed to pass a bar examination required by Rule 2 may reapply for admission to take a subsequent bar examination.

Reapplications shall be made by filing a reapplication form as required by the Board by <u>December 1 January 15</u> for the February bar examination and by <u>May 31 June 15</u> for the <u>next</u> July bar examination <u>following failure of the most recent</u> <u>February exam</u>.

Applicants for reexamination shall be required to pay the reapplication fee fixed by the Board. An applicant who does not comply with this Section must reapply pursuant to Sections 1 through 5 of this Rule.

2. Bar Rule 28(g) is amended to read as follows:

Rule 28. Action Necessary When Attorney is Disciplined.

\* \* \* \*

- (g) **Public Notice.** The Board will cause a notice of the disbarment, suspension, interim suspension, probation, public censure, or public reprimand to be published in
- (1) a newspaper of general circulation in Anchorage, Fairbanks, and Juneau;
- (1)(2) an official Alaska Bar Association publication and on the Alaska Bar Association's website; and
- (2)(3) a newspaper of general circulation serving the community in which the disciplined attorney maintained his or her practice.

\* \* \* \*

Effective Date: August 2, 2021

3. Bar Rule 30(e) is amended to read as follows:

## Rule 30. Procedure: Disabled, Incapacitated or Incompetent Attorney.

\* \* \* \*

## (e) Notice to Public of Transfer to Disability Inactive Status.

The Board will cause a notice of transfer to disability inactive status, whether imposed after hearing or on an interim basis, to be published in

- (1) a newspaper of general circulation in the cities of Anchorage, Fairbanks, and Juneau, Alaska;
- (1)(2) an official Alaska Bar Association publication and on the Alaska Bar Association's website; and
- (2)(3) a newspaper of general circulation primarily serving the community in which the disabled attorney maintained his or her practice.

When the disability or incapacity is removed and the attorney has been restored to active status, the Board will cause a notice of transfer to active status to be similarly published.

\* \* \* \*

Supreme Court Order No. 1966 Effective Date: August 2, 2021

Page 4 of 4

DATED: April 7, 2021

EFFECTIVE DATE: August 2, 2021

<u>/s/</u>
Chief Justice Bolger
, and the second
/s/
Justice Winfree
/s/
Justice Maassen
/s/
Justice Carney
,
/s/
Justice Borghesan