IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF ALASKA ORDER NO. 1940

Amending Bar Rule 43.1 to extend the time limit for a Judge Advocate General's Corps or United States Coast Guard attorney to practice law.

IT IS ORDERED:

Alaska Bar Rule 43.1 is amended to read as follows:

Rule 43.1. Waivers to Practice Law Under a United States Armed Forces Expanded Legal Assistance Program

Section 1. Eligibility. A person not admitted to the practice of law in this state may receive permission to practice law in the state for a period of not more than two years if such person meets all of the following conditions:

(a) The person is a graduate of a law school which was accredited or approved by the Council of Legal Education of the American Bar Association or the Association of American Law Schools when the person he entered or graduated and is an attorney in good standing, licensed to practice before the courts of another state, territory or the District of Columbia, or is eligible to be admitted to practice upon taking the oath of that state, territory or the District of Columbia;

(b) The person is an active duty member of the United States Armed Forces assigned to the Judge Advocate General's Corps or the United States Coast Guard; and

(c) The person has not failed the bar exam of this state.

* * * *

Section 5. Duration and Termination of License. The permission to perform legal services under this rule shall be limited by any of the following events:

(a) The attorney is no longer a member of the United States Uniformed Services;

(b) The attorney's military orders are changed to reflect a permanent change of station to a military installation other than <u>Alaska;</u>

(c) The attorney is admitted to the general practice of law in Alaska under any other rule of this court; or

(d) The attorney is suspended or disbarred, or pending suspension or disbarment, in any jurisdiction of the United States, or by any federal court or agency, or by any foreign nation before which the attorney has been admitted to practice.

If any of the events listed in subparagraph (a) – (d) occur, the attorney granted permission under this rule shall notify the Board of Governors in writing within 30 days of the limiting event. The permission to perform services under this rule shall terminate 90 days after the date of the limiting event.

DATED: November 15, 2018

EFFECTIVE DATE: April 15, 2019

<u>/S/</u> Chief Justice Bolger

<u>/S/</u> Justice Winfree

/S/ Justice Stowers

<u>/S/</u> Justice Maassen

<u>/S/</u> Justice Carney