IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF ALASKA ORDER NO. 1646 (Amended)

Amending Criminal Rule 6 concerning grand juries.

IT IS ORDERED:

Criminal Rule 6 is amended to read as follows:

Rule 6. The Grand Jury.

(a) **By Whom Convened.** The presiding superior court judge of the judicial district encompassing the <u>grand jury location site as</u> specified in section (b) shall convene the grand jury.

(b) Where Grand Juries Shall Be Convened. The grand jury shall be convened at the superior court location shown in the following table, based on the superior court venue district in which the matter under investigation occurred. The superior court venue districts are defined in the Criminal Rule 18 venue map. at a place which shall be determined as follows:

Superior Court Venue District in which the matter under investigation occurred	Location at which the grand jury will be convened
Anchorage	Anchorage
Barrow	Barrow
<u>Bethel</u>	<u>Bethel</u>
<u>Cordova</u>	Anchorage or Palmer
<u>Craig</u>	<u>Juneau, Ketchikan, or</u>
	<u>Sitka</u>
Delta Junction	<u>Fairbanks</u>
<u>Dillingham</u>	Dillingham or Anchorage
<u>Fairbanks</u>	<u>Fairbanks</u>

Supreme Court Order No. 1646 (Amended) Effective Date: October 15, 2007

Glennallen	Anchorage or Palmer
<u>Homer</u>	<u>Kenai</u>
<u>Juneau</u>	<u>Juneau, Sitka, or</u>
	<u>Ketchikan</u>
<u>Kenai</u>	<u>Kenai</u>
<u>Ketchikan</u>	<u>Ketchikan, Sitka, or</u>
	<u>Juneau</u>
<u>Kodiak</u>	<u>Kodiak</u>
<u>Kotzebue</u>	<u>Kotzebue</u>
<u>Naknek</u>	Anchorage
<u>Nome</u>	<u>Nome</u>
<u>Palmer</u>	<u>Palmer</u>
Petersburg	<u>Juneau, Ketchikan, or</u>
	<u>Sitka</u>
Seward	<u>Kenai</u>
<u>Sitka</u>	<u>Sitka, Juneau, or</u>
	<u>Ketchikan</u>
<u>Tok</u>	<u>Fairbanks</u>
<u>Unalaska</u>	Anchorage
<u>Valdez</u>	Anchorage or Palmer
<u>Wrangell</u>	<u>Juneau, Ketchikan, or</u>
	<u>Sitka</u>

(1) Designated Sites.

(i) If the matter under investigation occurred within election districts 1, 2, 3 or 4, then the grand jury shall be convened at Juneau, Ketchikan, Sitka, or Wrangell-Petersburg, Alaska.

(ii) If the matter under investigation occurred within election district 5, then the grand jury shall be convened at Kenai, Alaska.

(iii) If the matter under investigation occurred within election district 6, precincts 25 (Whittier) or 9 (Eyak), then the grand jury shall be convened at Anchorage, Alaska.

(iv) If the matter under investigation occurred within election district 6, precincts 3 (Bear Creek), 13 (Moose Pass), 11 (Hope), 5 (Cooper Landing), 15 (Seward No. 1), or 17 (Seward No. 2), then the grand jury shall be convened at Kenai, Alaska.

(v) If the matter under investigation occurred within election district 7, except precincts 26 (Nikiski No. 1) or 27 (Nikiski No. 2), then the grand jury shall be convened at Anchorage, Alaska.

(vi) If the matter under investigation occurred within election district 7 precincts 26 (Nikiski No. 1) or 27 (Nikiski No. 2), then the grand jury shall be convened at Kenai, Alaska.

(vii) If the matter under investigation occurred within election districts 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, or 15, then the grand jury shall be convened at Anchorage, Alaska.

(viii) If the matter under investigation occurred within election district 16, or within election district 6, precincts 7 (Cordova), 19 (Valdez No. 1), 21 (Valdez No. 2), or 23 (Valdez No. 3), then the grand jury shall be convened at Anchorage or Palmer, Alaska.

(ix) If the matter under investigation occurred within election district 17 except precincts 25 (Chistochina), 35 (Copper Center), 60 (Gakona), 65 (Glennallen), 75 (Kenny Lake), 85 (Mentasta), or 100 (Paxson), then the grand jury shall be convened at Fairbanks, Alaska.

(x) If the matter under investigation occurred within election district 17 precincts 25 (Chistochina), 35 (Copper Center), 60 (Gakona), 65 (Glennallen), 75 (Kenny Lake), 85 (Mentasta), or 100 (Paxson), then the grand jury shall be convened at Anchorage, or Palmer, Alaska. (xii) If the matter under investigation occurred within election district 22, then the grand jury shall be convened at Barrow or Kotzebue, Alaska.

(xiii) If the matter under investigation occurred within election district 23 except precincts 105 (Alakanuk), 115 (Chevak), 130 (Emmonak), 145 (Hooper Bay), 150 (Kotlik), 175 (Scammon Bay) or 185 (Sheldon Point), then the grand jury shall be convened at Nome, Alaska.

(xiv) If the matter under investigation occurred within election district 23 precincts 105 (Alakanuk), 115 (Chevak), 130 (Emmonak), 145 (Hooper Bay), 150 (Kotlik), 175 (Scammon Bay) or 185 (Sheldon Point), then the grand jury shall be convened at Bethel, Alaska.

(xv) If the matter under investigation occurred within election district 24 precincts 510 (Aniak), 515 (Anvik), 540 (Chuathbaluk), 545 (Crooked Creek), 550 (Fortuna Ledge), 565 (Grayling), 570 (Holy Cross), 585 (Kalskag), 600 (Lower Kalskag), 610 (McGrath), 620 (Mountain Village), 625 (Nikolai), 635 (Pilot Station), 640 (Pitkas Point), 655 (Russian Mission), 670 (St. Marys), 665 (Sleetmute), 677 (Stony River), 680 (Takotna), or 690 (Tuluksak), then the grand jury shall be convened at Bethel, Alaska.

If the matter under investigation occurred within election district 24 precinct 505 (Alatna), 520 (Arctic Village), 525 (Beaver), 530 (Bettles), 535 (Chalkyitsik), 555 (Fort Yukon), 560 (Galena), 575 (Hughes), 580 (Huslia), 590 (Kaltag), 595 (Koyukuk), 605 (Manley Hot Springs), 615 (Minto), 630 (Nulato), 645 (Rampart), 650 (Ruby), 675 (Stevens Village), 685 (Tanana) or 700 (Venetie), then the grand jury shall be convened at Fairbanks, Alaska.

(xvi) If the matter under investigation occurred within election district 24 precinct 695 (Tyonek), then the grand jury shall be convened at Kenai, Alaska.

(xvii) If the matter under investigation occurred within election district 25, then the grand jury shall be convened at Bethel, Alaska.

(xviii) If the matter under investigation occurred within election district 26, then the grand jury shall be convened at Anchorage, Alaska.

(xix) If the matter under investigation occurred within election district 27, except precincts 7 (Chignik) or 11 (Ivanoff-Perryville), then the grand jury shall be convened at Kodiak, Alaska.

(xx) If the matter under investigation occurred within election district 27 precincts 7 (Chignik) or 11 (Ivanoff-Perryville), then the grand jury shall be convened at Anchorage, Alaska.

For the purpose of this rule, election districts shall be those set forth in the official 1984 reapportionment map for the State of Alaska.

(2) Special Sites. The presiding judge of a judicial district shall be empowered to call a special jury to be convened at a site other than the site designated in <u>this subsection</u> the preceding subsection, if the presiding judge determines that the designation of a special site is necessary in the interest of justice.

* * * *

DATED: June 26, 2007

EFFECTIVE DATE: October 15, 2007

<u>/s/</u> Chief Justice Fabe

<u>/s/</u> Justice Matthews

<u>/s/</u> Justice Eastaugh

<u>/s/</u> Justice Bryner

<u>/s/</u> Justice Carpeneti