
IN THE TRIAL COURT FOR THE STATE OF ALASKA 

In the Matter of: 

BAIL SCHEDULE 

) 
) 
) 
) 

~~~~~~~~~> 

PRESIDING JUDGE ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER 
ESTABLISHING A STATEWIDE BAIL SCHEDULE 

Effective February l, 2020 1 

I. Scope of Application. This Statewide Bail Schedule is issued pursuant to 

Alaska Rule of Criminal Procedure (Criminal Rule) 4i(d) and Alaska Administrative 

Rule 46, and is promulgated for use throughout all judicial districts of the State of 

Alaska. The attached User Notes are incorporated herein. And a Statewide Bail 

Schedule Summary Reference Sheet is attached as Appendix A to provide a synopsis 

of the Statewide Bail Schedule. 

2. Felony. The Bail Schedule does not apply to felonies, including a Petition 

to Revoke Probation on a felony offense, see Criminal Rule 4l(e). 

3. Domestic Violence. A defendant charged \Vith a crime involving domestic 

violence as defined in AS 18.66.990(3) or with violating a condition of release (VCOR, 

AS 11.56.757) set in a case alleging a crime involving domestic violence shall be held 

without bail per AS 12.30.027(e) until the defendant appears before a judicial officer 

within the time period set by applicable law. 

This Order replaces all previous Statewide Bail Schedule Orders. 
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4. Stalking. A defendant charged with a crime of Stalking in the Second 

Degree shall be held per Criminal Rule 4l(d)(3) until the defendant appears before a 

judicial officer within the time period set by applicable law. 

5. Arrest and Bench Warrants. If a defendant is arrested pursuant to an 

arrest or bencl1 \Varrant, tl1en the monetary bail and conditions, if any, set in tl1e 'varrant 

shall control until the defendant appears before a judicial officer within the time period 

set by applicable law. 

6. Misdemeanor Offenses - Established Bail Amount. A defendant charged 

with an offense listed below is subject to the cash performance bail stated: 

(a) A second DUI or Refusal - $500 

(b) A third or subsequent non-felony DUI - $1,000 

(c) A first Non-DV Assault- $500 

(d) A second and subsequent Non-DV Assault - $1,000 

(e) Unlawful Evasion or Escape - $1,000 

(t) Violating Conditions of Release on a non-DV A misdemeanor- $250 

(g) Violating Conditions of Release on a non-DV felony-$1,000 

A defendant who posts bail and is released from custody shall be subject to the conditions 

listed in Section 7 below and any condition set per Section 9 and Section 10 below. 

7. Misden1eanor Offenses - Release on Q,vn Recognizance and 

Conditions. All other defendants arrested without a warrant, shall be released on his or 

11er 0\Vn Recognizance subject to tl1e follo\ving conditions: 
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(a) obey all court orders and all federal, state, and local laws; 

(b) appear in court when ordered; 

(c) if represented, maintain contact \\•itl1 the person's la,V)•er and notify tl1e 
person's la\vyer, \Vho sl1all notify the prosecuting authority and tl1e court, 
not more than 24 liours after tl1e person changes residence; 

(d) if unrepresented, notify the prosecuting authority and the court, not more 
than 24 hours after the person changes residence; and 

(e) do not contact, directly or indirectly, any alleged victim. 

These conditions shall be set forth in an Order and Conditions of Release 

form and a copy of the Order and Conditions of Release form shall be given to the 

defendant prior to the defendant being released. 

8. Release of Intoxicated Defendants. For any defendant released pursuant 

to this Bail Schedule, the correctional facility shall, at the time of release, conduct a 

chemical test of the breath of a person \Vho l1as been arrested and \Vl10 is intoxicated. Tl1e 

correctional facility shall detain the defendant until the test result indicates that the 

person's breath has less than 0.08 grams of alcohol for each 210 liters of breath or, with 

tl1e defendant's consent, 1nay release the defendant to another person \Vl10 is \Villing and 

able to provide care for the defendant. 

9. Officer or Defendant Request for Monetary Bail, Bail Modification, or 

Additional Condition. The arresting officer or a correctional officer may apply to a 

judicial officer to have the established bail set for an offense listed in Section 6 modified, 

or to 11ave bail set for an offense tl1at comes \Vitl1in the scope of Section 7. 

A judicial officer, per Criminal Rule 4l(d)(2), must be contacted at a defendant's 

request if the defendant is charged with an offense listed in Section 6 above and is not 

able to immediately post the amount of bail established in Section 6. The judicial officer 
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may modify the established bail if circumstances exist indicating that protection of the 

public and the defendant's appearance at subsequent proceedings can be reasonably 

assured by one of the following: 

(a) Release on personal recognizance; 

(b) Release on other appropriate conditions; 

(c) The execution of an unsecured appearance bond in an amount equal to or less 
tl1an tl1e scheduled or set bail arnount, and tl1e deposit in casl1 or otl1er security 
of not more than 10 percent of the amount of the bond; or 

( d) The execution of a bail bond in an amount less than the scheduled or set bail 
arnount, secured by cash or otl1er solvent sureties; or 

(e) The execution of a performance bond. 

10. Defendant under the Influence of Alcohol. If the officer has reasonable 

suspicion that tl1e defendant, at the ti1ne of arrest, \Vas under tl1e influence of alcol1ol, tl1en 

there is a condition of release that the defendant not possess or consume alcohol. The 

officer must check the related box on the Order and Conditions of Release form if the 

officer signs the fonn or, ifthe form is signed by a correctional officer or other officer the 

arresting officer 1nust inform tl1e jail staff or otl1er officer of tl1e need for tl1is condition of 

release and the correctional officer or other officer sl1all cl1ecl< this box on tl1e Order and 

Conditions of Release form. A copy of the Order and Conditions of Release form shall 

be given to the defendant prior to the defendant being released. 

11. First Appearance. The judicial officer presiding at the defendant's first 

court appearance 1nay set and adjust bail and conditions of release even if the Bail 

Scl1edule applies or bail \Vas set in an arrest or bench \Varrant or by an on call judicial 
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officer. The setting of bail cannot be delegated to correctional officers, police officers, or 

a11y other person. 

12. Arraignment Date. Upon release pursuant to the Bail Schedule, the 

defendant's next court appearance shall be the date set for arraignment at the first 

available time during the next business day or as provided by the local court. 

IT IS SO ORDERED. 

Dated at Ketchikan, Alaska this 2- 't. da:?Of Janu~a'!!r~•c2ll2tc _____ _ 

G..or Trevor N. Stephens 
Presiding Judge First Judici ·ct 

Dated at Kotzebue, Alaska this 2....Y day of nua:ry~2~02~0:·------

b"""r Paul A. Roet~an 
Presiding Judge Second Judicial District 

Dated at Anchorage, Alaska this ~ 

William F. Morse 
Presiding Judge Tl1ird Judicial District 

"-
Dated at Fairbanks, Alaska thi,pq ~o~ 

Michael A. MacDonald 
Presiding Judge Fourth Judicial District 
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User Notes 

I. PJAO ~ 2. Criminal Rule 4l(e) provides that: "No bail schedule shall be 

established for felonies." The presiding judges construe that provision as 

exempting cases which include a felony charge from the scope of Criminal Rule 

4l(d)(2). 

2. PJAO ~ 3. AS 12.30.027(e) provides: "A person arrested for a crime involving 

do1nestic violence or for a violation of a condition of release in connection \Vith a 

cri1ne involving do1nestic violence 1nay not be released fro1n custody until tlte 

person has appeared in person before a judicial officer or telephonically for 

arraignment." Criminal Rule 41(d)(3) provides that: "A misdemeanor bail 

schedule 1nay not be set for crimes involving do1nestic ''iolence as defined in AS 

18.66.990 or for the crime of stalking under AS 11.41.270. 

Tl1e presiding judges construe "'crime involving domestic violence" in AS 

l2.30.207(e) to be the crimes listed at AS 18.66.990(3), and AS l2.30.027(e) as 

requiring that defendants arrested for a crime involving do1nestic violence or for 

violating a condition of release set in a case in \Vhich a cri1ne involving domestic 

violence has been charged be held without bail until the defendant appears before 

a judicial officer within the time period set by applicable law. 

The presiding judges construe AS 12.30.027(e) and Criminal Rule 4l(d)(3) as 

exempting tl1e offenses referenced tl1erein from the scope of Criminal Rule 

4l(d)(2). 

3. PJAO ~ 4. Criminal Rule 41(d)(3) provides in part that a "misdemeanor bail 

schedule may not be set ... for the crime of stalking under AS 11.41.270." 
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4. PJAO 11 5. Section 5 is intended to make clear that the Statewide Bail Schedule 

does not apply to defendants who are arrested on a bench warrant or an arrest 

warrant. The bail established for such defondants is the bail amount stated in the 

warrant. A person unable to post the bail will appear before a judicial officer 

within the time period set by applicable law and that judicial officer has the 

authority to modify the bail amount and set conditions of release in accordance 

with applicable law. The presiding judges do not construe Criminal Rule 41(d)(2) 

as applying to tl1is situation. 

5. PJAO 11 6. The presiding judges have determined that the offenses listed in 

Section 6 are such that the bail set is appropriate per AS 12.30.011. The bail may 

be adjusted before the defendant appears before a judicial officer per Section 8. If 

the defendant is not able to post the required bail and appears before a judicial 

officer that judicial officer has the authority to adjust bail and set conditions of 

release in accordance \Vith applicable la\V. 

Section 6 in the June 15. 2017 Presiding Judges' Statewide Bail Schedule had 

addressed the reduction in SB 91 of the crime ofVCOR to a non-jailable violation. 

SB 54 has now revised SB 91 bv making VCOR a misdemeanor punishable by up 

to five days in jail. So tl1e prior Section 6 has been deleted. and VCOR is no\V 

addressed in Sections 6(f) and 6(g). (DELETE) 

6. PJAO 117. Defendants who are not charged with a felony, arrested on a petition 

to revoke probation in a felony case, arrested on a \Varrant \Vith a stated bail 

a1nount, a misdemeanor crime involving domestic violence, stalking, or an offense 

listed in Section 6 are to be released on tl1eir 0\Vn Recognizance under tl1e 

conditions stated in Section 7 and, if applicable, Section I 0 unless bail is set per 

Section 9 and the defendant is not able to post the ordered bail. 
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7. PJAO ~ 8. Section 8 has been amended per Section 59 of HB 49 (AS 

12.30.01 l(e)). The Presidin~ Judges. bv revising Section 8 and bv previously 

including the unrevised Section 8 per Section 27 of SB 54 (AS 12.30.011(1)). are 

not 1naking any determination about tl1e constitutionality of Section 27 of SB 54 

(AS 12.30.011(1) or Section 59 ofHB 49 (AS 12.30.01 l(e)). 

8. PJAO ~ 9. With regards to the first paragraph of Section 9, Criminal Rule 

4l(d)(2) provides, in part, that: "Any order adopting a misdemeanor bail schedule 

must provide that the arresting police agency may apply to a judicial officer for a 

different bail." The presiding judges construe this provision as applying to the 

offenses listed in Section 6 and to those offenses for which an Own Recognizance 

release would be required under Section 7. The presiding judges have also 

included correctional officers in Section 8 because of the reasonable possibility 

that a correctional officer may become a'vare of circu1nstances tl1at could \Varrant 

the imposition of bail under AS 12.30.011 after the arresting police officer has 

departed. 

The second paragraph of Section 9 is required by Criminal Rule 4l(d)(2)(A)- (E). 

9. PJAO ~. 9. The modification effective February I, 2020 removes "do not leave 

Alaska" as a 1nandatory condition of release. 
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APPENDIX A 

STATEWIDE BAIL SCHEDULE SUMMARY REFERENCE SHEET 

This Reference Sheet is intended to pro\1ide a synopsis of the attacl1ed State\vide Bail Schedule 
and User Notes. Refer to tl1e State\vide Bail Schedule and User Notes for more complete 
directions and explanations. 

Al\vays Hold Until Seen by a Judicial Officer 

Defendants arrested for: 

1) Any felony offense. 
2) Violating a Probation Condition in a felony case. 
3) A crime involving domestic violence (DV). 
4) Violating a condition of release (VCOR) iftl1e condition \Vas set in a case in \Vl1icl1 a DV 

cri1ne is charged. 
5) Stalking. 

Arrest and Bench Warrants 

Defendants \Vito are arrested on an arrest \Varrant or a bencl1 \Varrant are subject to tl1e bail stated 
in tl1e \Varrant. 

Established Cash Bail Amounts for Non-DV Misdemeanor Offenses 

1) Second DUI/Refusal 
2) Third or higher DUI/Refusal 
3) First non-DV assault 
4) Second or subsequent Non-DV assault 
5) Unla\vful evasion or escape 
6) Violating Conditions of Release on a Non-DV A misdemeanor 
7) Violating Conditions of Release on a Non-DV felony 

$500 
$1,000 
$500 
$1,000 
$1,000 
$250 
$1,000 

Misdemeanor and Violations Not Specified Above 

Defendants arrested for misdemeanors or violations not specified above are to be released on 
their o\vn recognizance (OR) subject to the conditions stated in Section 7 and, if applicable, 
section 10. 

Contact .Judicial Officer 

In all cases covered by tl1e State\vide Bail Scl1edule an arresting officer or a correctional officer 
may contact a judicial officer to request t11at tl1e establisl1ed monetary bail amount listed above 
be modified or to have monetary bail imposed for a defendant \Vl10 would othenvise be released 
OR, or to have additional conditions of release imposed. And a defendant may request that a 
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judicial officer be contacted if the defendant cannot immediately post the bail amount listed 
abo,1e and tl1e on-call judicial officer must promptly be contacted if sucl1 a request is made. 

Distribution: The Clerks of Court are to distribute to all Police, Correctional Facilities, 
Jails, District Attorney Offices, Public Defender Agencies, and Municipal Attorney 
Offices in tl1eir comn1unities; all Judges and Magistrates in tl1eir court; all Cities and 
Boroughs in their area; Chief Justice Bolger; Court Administrator and 
all Area Court Administrators. 
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